The EC approves the vaccine certificate for Albania, who can move freely

The EC approves the vaccine certificate for Albania, who can move freely

The European Commission has approved the digital vaccination certificate for Albania and 6 other non-EU countries.

Following this decision anyone who has the certificate received after receiving the dose of a vaccine approved by the EMA can move freely in the countries of the European Union.

Notification to the European Commission

Today, seven new decisions confirm that the COVID-19 certificates issued by Albania, Andorra, the Faroe Islands, Israel, Monaco, Morocco and Panama are equivalent to the EU COVID Digital Certificate.

As a result, the seven countries and territories will be linked to the EU system and the COVID certificates they issue will be accepted in the EU under the same conditions as the EU Digital COVID Certificates. At the same time, countries and territories agreed to accept the EU COVID Digital Certificate for EU travel to their home countries. Justice Commissioner Didier Reynders said:

"During this summer we have seen that citizens are able to travel safely thanks to the EU COVID Digital Certificate. This is a favorable situation: citizens can enjoy their right to free movement and businesses as well as the transport sector can begin to offset the losses of previous months.

More than 420 million EU certificates have been issued since June.

I therefore welcome the fact that more and more countries outside the EU are joining our successful system. A total of 42 countries - 27 EU member states and 15 non-EU countries - are now participating in the EU COVID COVID digital certification system, confirming the EU certificate as an international standard.

The commission approved seven new decisions yesterday. Cooperation with other third countries to link them to the EU system continues. More information on the EU COVID Digital Certificate can be found on the dedicated website.

What are EMA approved vaccines?

EMA has approved the use of Pfizer / BioNTech, Moderna, AstraZeneca and Johnson & Johnson vaccines.